My starter makeup kit

Hello lovely,

As it’s the Summer holidays a few girls who are going into their first year of secondary school might want to start out with makeup and start practising using it. Today I’m going to tell you what I’d put into my starter makeup kit.


Base Makeup

Foundation – For foundation I’d recommend starting with a brand like Rimmel or Revlon as they have a fantastic range of colours and have foundations suited to each skin type. My favourite at the moment is the Rimmel Wake Me Up foundation.

Concealer – For blemishes and any redness I love using the Collection Lasting Perfection concealer. It gives good coverage and has a lovely consistency. If you wanted to use a concealer for under your eyes as well I love the Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer as it helps to brighten up my under eye circles.

Powder – If you have very oily skin like myself powder is essential for you otherwise your makeup would melt off you by the middle of the day. I like to use the Rimmel Stay Matte powder. If your skin isn’t oily and you’re just starting out with makeup I don’t think powder is necessary.


Blush – If I was starting with makeup I’d start off with blush before bronzer or highlight. I started off with the Natural Collection blushes but I’d also recommend the Max Factor Creme Puff blush.

Bronzer/Highlight – If you do want to start using bronzer and highlighter I think the Sleek Face Form palette is great as you get a bronzer, blusher and highlighter. The bronzer also isn’t too dark for us pale girls so it’s and all round winner 😉


Eyes 

Eyeshadow – For eyeshadow Maybelline The Nudes palettes is fatastic and the colours are gorgeous. Revolution and Sleek also do really pretty palettes!

Mascara – So many drugstore brands do amazing mascaras. My two favourite at the moment are from Maybelline and Bourjois but Max Factor and Loreal also are great for mascara.

Brows – I personally don’t think you need to focus on your brows when you’re starting out but if you insist on using something I’d use a gel. Maybelline and Rimmel both do great eyebrow gels 🙂

If you’re wondering why I didn’t put in eyeliner I honestly don’t think it’s necessary to use eyeliner when you’re starting using makeup! If you do want to use eyeliner Soap and Glory Supercat eyeliner is a good one.


Lips 

Once again a lot of drugstore brands have amazing lip products whether it’s a gloss or a lipstick. My current four favourite lip products are the Bourjois Effect 3D gloss in 52, Rimmel Kate Moss in 107, Essence lipstick in 13 Love Me, and Soap and Glory Sex Mother Pucker lipgloss in Nudist.

That’s my starter makeup kit. I know not every girl will use that many products when they start using makeup but if they want to expand their collection they’re the products I’d start with!

Hope you enjoyed this post. Make sure to like, comment and follow if you want more posts.

See you soon 🙂

Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest|Bloglovin|Facebook

Posted by

I'm an 18 year old student from Ireland. At the moment I'm in my first year of College/Uni studying Biological Sciences. I have a few interests like makeup, music, baking and also writing. I started this blog because I wanted somewhere to share all my thoughts. What I love, what I hate, what I'm thinking/doing. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I love writing.

4 thoughts on “My starter makeup kit

  1. Great post. Now i want to try Maybelline blush. Dont know why i dont look at this brand in the stores. I should.
    P.S. If you are interested in cats and cosmetics you may visit to my blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

