Maybelline ‘The Nudes’ Palette Review


Hello lovely,

If you read my last blogpost then you’ll know that I bought The Nudes palette by Maybelline a few weeks ago. After trying it out for a while I wanted to do a review of it for you.


The palette retails at €14 approximately and the shadows are in a plastics palette that’s very slim and sleek looking. There are twelve shades all together with a mixture of browns, beiges and golds. It features a mix of mattes, shimmers, and satin eyeshadows.


I’ll be the first to admit that when I first look at a palette with twelve eyeshadows to choose from I need to put a lot of thought into what shades I want to wear. The back of the palette separates the shadows into quads, trios and duos to help you decide what look to go for. I really like this as it help those of us who are in a rush to get out the door in the morning.

The first quad has all the shades to create your perfect everyday nude. Quality and formula wise I think this section is my favourite. The top right shade is very sheer but it’s wonderful as a highlight for your brow bone. The top left shade was also very sheer but I found it good to use as a base colour.

These shades are very buildable but can be sheered depending on how you want it to look. I love this section as I tend to go for everyday nudes more than anything else.

When I first saw these four eyeshadows I immediately thought Autumn. They are more warm in tone and look gorgeous in the pan. The top right shade is a matte shade but the formula of it is very dry. It’s also very sheer and seems to have a hint of yellow when applied. The bottom right shade does swatch very sheer but you are able to build it up with a heavy hand.


I was a little disappointed with them two shades but the top and bottom left shades do have an amazing pigment to them. Unfortunately they aren’t the shades that I’d normally use but I’ll keep trying out more looks with them.


Last but not least is the cool toned section. These shades look like they would be perfect for a sophisticated smokey eye look. Once again I found the formula of the top right hand shade very dry and uncomfortable to wear. This upset me as the shadow did have a lovely colour pay off. The bottom left shade also had a nice colour pay of but it creased a bit on my eye.


The bottom right hand shade did come out very sheer but this also made a nice shade for my brow bone although I preferred the eyeshadow in the first quad section as the colour was a bit lighter and therefore it was more suited for me to highlight with.

So should you buy this palette? For me it’s a no, the shades that I like wearing for everyday were either too dry or too sheer. But the darker shades with a shimmer that I wouldn’t go to for everyday wear were incredibly pigmented with a nice buttery formula.

Overall I was disappointed with the palette but maybe that’s just me! I will say that it is a nice palette for those of you that are starting out with makeup, but you can get better in the drugstore.

Have you tried this palette? If so what did you think of it? And if not what is your favourite drugstore eyeshadow palette?

See you soon 🙂

Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest|Bloglovin|Facebook

Posted by

I'm an 18 year old student from Ireland. At the moment I'm in my first year of College/Uni studying Biological Sciences. I have a few interests like makeup, music, baking and also writing. I started this blog because I wanted somewhere to share all my thoughts. What I love, what I hate, what I'm thinking/doing. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I love writing.

8 thoughts on “Maybelline ‘The Nudes’ Palette Review

  1. Thanks for doing This review!! I think I’m going to be it for my mam, because she never really wears eyeshadow, and I think this would be good for her! She’ll probably use the first quad the most! Great review!!xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

