My Acne Story


Hello lovely,

I have suffered from acne since around the age of 11. Red spots were appearing on my face in different shapes and sizes. I hadn’t a clue why and it was all so confusing to me at the time.

My acne started to get worse when I was 12. I still remember one occasion when a few girls in my school were talking to each other and saying “my sister pops all her spots” and basically talking about me and trying to get me to pop my spots. Bare in mind that I was in primary school, the stage of your life where you’re not meant to be focusing on how you look but you’re meant to be free from all the ridiculing in the world.

I was really upset over it and I wanted help. Next thing I knew my mom was buying me all types of cleansers, toners, spot treatments which I didn’t know how to use properly. None of them were helping me in anyway.

One day my friend, who also has acne, told me that her mom was bringing her to the doctor for her acne. I told my mom first thing I got home and before we knew it she had booked an appointment with our local GP.

Thankfully I had one of nicest doctors ever and he explained to me why I was starting to get acne and he told me some website to look information about it. I’ve been on hundreds on antibiotics for it and have had to use to perscribed creams, one of which gave me a tomoato of a face!

They all maintained it, with the occasional eruption, but didn’t get rid of it. I was then referred to a dermatologist who basically did the same thing as my GP. Put me on a different set of antibiotics and see how it goes.

Then came the time to decide if I was going to go on Roaccutane or not. I was researching it for months and I didn’t think my acne was severe enough. This was also the stage when I was properly getting into skincare which was a great help!

I went back to my dermatologist last month and told him I didn’t want to go on Roaccutane. I’m perfectly happy using my skincare to maintain. Safe to say he wasn’t happy so he’s after putting me on two creams which I’ve been on before, both of which I haven’t touched yet, and he told me that if they work that he doesn’t want to see me again.

Right now I’m sticking to my skincare routines and continuously trying out different products, and I personally think my skin is better off that way. I do still get eruptions and I’m going through the end of one now. I’m only 17 so I still have a long way to go.

What my acne looks like now. 

  

  

This is what it looks like up close. It’s not perfect but as I said it’s coming to the end of an acne explosion.
   
Here’s an overview of my face. It’s not severe acne at the moment, I’ll be the first to admit that. It’s after becoming very mild. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of when my acne was at its worst point because I either deleted them straight away or else I refused to have my picture taken.

I hope you enjoyed my post. If you suffer with acne, eczema or any skin issue please write in the comments what you find the best to treat it 🙂

See you soon 🙂

Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest|Bloglovin|Facebook

Posted by

I'm an 18 year old student from Ireland. At the moment I'm in my first year of College/Uni studying Biological Sciences. I have a few interests like makeup, music, baking and also writing. I started this blog because I wanted somewhere to share all my thoughts. What I love, what I hate, what I'm thinking/doing. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I love writing.

8 thoughts on “My Acne Story

  1. Fair play Ciara for putting up this post of your naked skin, I suffer with the same situation myself (and actually have a similar post going up on Wed) and have tried everything. I would definitely try introducing the Clinique Mild Clarifying Lotion into your routine and cutting out scrubbing all together, and if you haven’t already introduce a serum into your routine. I use Clinique Smart and find it really helps with the redness! x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I might look into trying the Clinique lotion. I have a Michael Todd serum but it doesn’t do much for me! I’m looking to buy a new one 🙂 x

      Like

  2. I was looking at that clinique stuff but not tried yet.
    Well done on post. I’ve been on pills etc too no fun! I’m currently using esste lauder clear difference serum and it works but not well enough tbh and for price I wouldn’t recommend it. I won’t rebuy when it runs out. Got a few new products today to try out so fingers crossed.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. There is a picture of them on my blog. Two are neutrogena pink grapefruit products a face scrub and a moisturiser and a superdrug own brand cleansing lotion. I just used the scrub and it made my skin soft so hopefully it helps. The cleansing lotion is one I’m hoping helps. It says it has the maximum permitted concentration of salicylic acid. I’m sure the Clear Difference serum I’ve been using as a little bit of that only in it so I hope something with stronger amount might work for me as my serum does help slightly. Fingers crossed!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Several years ago, I suddenly broke out badly, and the only thing that helped me at the time was PanOxyl Aquagel 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. The Aquagel line isn’t available anymore (they d/c it in 2012), but the company does have a 3% treatment: http://www.panoxyl.com/products.html

    Since then I have found that I mainly need to get enough sleep and de-stress – that’s what usually causes breakouts for me. However, I’m 2x your age, so I don’t know how helpful that is for you!

    ❤ Your post is wonderful! Best of luck and I hope you keep us posted on your progress 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

