Blogmas Day 7: Giving Back During The Holidays

Christmas is a very exciting time of year. Spending the holiday surrounded by family, giving each other presents and eating all the food you could imagine, it’s definitely my favourite time of year. However, as much as I love taking part in the festivities, the holidays are an extremely important time to think of the less fortunate. I couldn’t do Blogmas without dedicating a post on how to give back during the holidays, so with that said, here are some of my ways of giving back.

 

Christmas Shoe Box – Every year Team Hope do the Christmas Shoebox Appeal. Every year since primary school I have taken apart in this. You’re given a child within a specific age range to buy for. To fill the box you are given four headings to help you. Write, Wash Wear and Wow, the four w’s. It’s a wonderful idea to give a child the present of a lifetime.

Donating – One thing I love doing is donating unused items to charity. Whenever I have a wardrobe clean out I always make sure I have a few bits and peaces to go to charity. Around Christmas time I seem to collect buckets, and I mean BUCKETS, of body gift sets. Now don’t get me wrong, I love every gift I receive. But as much as I do love a good pamper, there’s no chance I’m going to be able to use up 10 of these gift sets in a year. That’s why instead of me hoarding them and collecting more the next year I like to donate them to people who will actually use them.

Baking – I love baking, always have, always will. To me there’s nothing better than making one of your favourite homemade treats and sharing them with others. Two years ago when I made our Christmas dessert I decided to make some for my neighbours as well. Ever since I vowed that I’d make them something small every year because they make us a trifle for both Christmas and New Years. Let me tell you, there’s nothing better than seeing someone enjoy something you baked as much as you do.

Contact An Old Friend – Remember that friend who you spent all of primary school with? Or the friend who stuck by you through secondary school? Sometimes our friendship from these days tend to fade once we get caught up in our busy lives, I get it, trust me. The holidays are the perfect time to catch up with people as it’s about spending time with your loved ones. Whether they live far away or close by, there is so many different ways to contact people now a days. I’m sure they will be delighted to hear from you.

Giving Books To Strangers – Recently Emma Watson was leaving books on the London Underground. This is all apart of Books On The Underground movement. What people do is they pick they’re favourite books and leave it around for people to find. I think this is a wonderful idea and I will definitely be taking part this Christmas.

 

Twitter|Instagram|Pinterest|Bloglovin|Facebook

 

Posted by

I'm an 18 year old student from Ireland. At the moment I'm in my first year of College/Uni studying Biological Sciences. I have a few interests like makeup, music, baking and also writing. I started this blog because I wanted somewhere to share all my thoughts. What I love, what I hate, what I'm thinking/doing. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I love writing.

4 thoughts on “Blogmas Day 7: Giving Back During The Holidays

Leave a Reply

