What I’ve Learned With Acne

Hello lovely,

I’ve had acne for about seven years now. I’ve been to doctors and dermatologists, I’ve taken endless amounts of medication over the years, and I had to buy countless prescribed acne cream. 

This past year is the first year that I’ve started to understand my acne and been able to get it under control. I now feel like I know what works and what doesn’t work for me. So I’m taking this opportunity to share my acne tips with you! 

  • Don’t use foaming cleaners/3 step acne solving cleansers – I’m 100% a victim of this. In my defence I was 15 and having acne was a confidence destroyer at that age. This was probably the worst thing I ever did. The foaming cleanser along with the harsh ingredients in the toner and acne lotion irritated my skin and made my skin really dry. Having the oiliest of skins this wasn’t right but I didn’t realise this straight away, so if you have acne then don’t be enticed by these. 
  • Don’t be afraid of using oils/moisturiser – Once again I’ll honestly say I didn’t listen to this piece of advice. There seems to be some sort of a myth where everyone thinks people with acne have oily skin. This couldn’t be more wrong. Even if you do have oily skin like me this is a step in your skincare routine you can’t miss. It’s so important to hydrate your skin in order to replenish it so it’s at its healthiest. 
  • Doctors aren’t always the solution – I’ve been to a few doctors with my acne but they all do the same thing. Put me on medication to ‘get rid of’ the acne and give me a prescription for acne creams that dry my skin out and leave it sore and irritated. This past year I haven’t gone to a doctor or dermatologist to look at my acne yet it’s also been the best year for me acne wise. 
  • Medication doesn’t always work – That brings me on to my next point. Medication that doctors prescribe don’t always work. For me the most it does is maintain it at a bearable state. I even know a few people who have been on harsher medication who have been put on it 2 or 3 times. I advise to stop taking medication if it’s not doing anything because if your body gets used to the ingredients and you need to take something in the future for a more serious illness your body could be after becoming to used to the ingredients. 
  • Diet is important – There are some food groups that people find triggers there acne. Sugar and fried food are my two main triggers whereas some people find Dairy and Red Meat cause there’s, I’ve trialed dairy before and it made no difference and I don’t eat much red meat anyway. Also supplements are very important I have learned over the past year. I’m currently taking Zink and Omega 3 as these were recommended by my local health shop. 
  • Don’t pick – Also one I’m not perfect with still. Picking is the worst thing you can do as you’re only going to end up with scars around your face. I have a few scars on my face from picking spots and each one is a reminder of a battle I’ve lost trying to get rid of the spot. So please don’t pick. 
  • Caroline Hirons is a God send – if you want to learn about skincare for acne or just acne in general Caroline’s blog is one of the biggest helps ever. Even if you don’t have acne and you’re trying to get together a good skincare routine to suit you she will definitely be a big help. 
  • It’s not the end of the world – having acne isn’t the worst thing ever. I know it can destroy your confidence a bit especially in your teenage year but honestly it shouldn’t. Most likely than not people around you don’t notice your acne as much as you do so there’s no need to feel down about it. Everyone gets spots it’s completely normal. Also when you get a skincare routine/diet going it’s easy to maintain your acne. This is the one this I’ve finally learned that is the most important. 

See you soon. 

Posted by

I'm an 18 year old student from Ireland. At the moment I'm in my first year of College/Uni studying Biological Sciences. I have a few interests like makeup, music, baking and also writing. I started this blog because I wanted somewhere to share all my thoughts. What I love, what I hate, what I'm thinking/doing. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I love writing.

23 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned With Acne

  1. This is super helpful for me. I have suffered with acne prone skin for as long as I can remember, I have so many spots, and my skin is always red, I struggle to find a normal patch of skin on my skin. I will definitely come back to this post for help and guidance as recently to I have found myself figuring out what works best for my skin, changing my diet and going to the doctor (as a starting point). This is super helpful though for me, will definitely take this advice, thanks for this tips,
    Lois x
    http://www.lifeasloismay.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Acne is such a struggle, I 100% understand how you feel. Changing your diet hopefully will help you but I definitely recommend that you read Caroline Hirons blog. She has an acne ‘cheat sheet’ which I found very helpful! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope they help you. It’s a long process to battle acne but once you figure out what triggers and get a good skincare routine you’ll get to a point where you’re happy with your skin! Xx

      Like

  2. I never had acne so I am not really familiar with the issue. However, few of my friends had to deal with it and I know how hard it has been, especially through high school. They could have used these tips! And I will remember them for when I have kid son my own (not for now though aha) xx Corinne from Corinne & Kirsty

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is so sweet, thank you so much. High school was my toughest point with acne. It made me very unconfident within myself. I hope your so manages to escape like you did! Xx

      Like

      1. Im 25 and still suffer with acne. I’ve tried all the above and sadly none of it really worked for me. 😦 But everyone’s skin is different like you’ve said. I think it’s all good advise to try out. Heard about the dairy at a young age and eagerly tried that out with out much luck.

        Its such a confidence destroyer, especially the older you get and all your peers so being fresh faced and spotless! Been recently put on Isotronoin (sp?) which is supposed to nuke your skin. Fingers crossed for me eh!?

        Chelsea – http://www.TastetheTea.co.uk

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel so bad for you. Luckily I found these were the best for my skin. I really hope the Isotronoin works for you and you get good results from it! Xx

        Like

  3. I hear ya! Acne has also been a huge struggle for me and finding the right products is a true pain (not to mention bad for my wallet). I think the thing I truly had to learn was to just accept it. My skin was never going to be super clear, but hey, that shouldn’t define me. For me, Lush has been a huge help. Their Mask of Magnaminty and Herbalism have truly done wonders for my skin. I feel very lucky to have finally found something that sort of works for me. And like you mention, diet is so important. More important than people often thing. Great post.

    Would you be interested in sharing your work elsewhere? We are currently looking for aspiring writers who are looking for a bigger audience, to take their writing to the next level, and to simply let their voice be heard. Let me know if you’d be interested. You can find my contact details on my blog, so please do shoot me an e-mail if you’d like more information. Hope to hear from you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

