How Cruel Is My Makeup Bag

I haven’t posted on this for a while, I know. In my break from blogging I felt awful because it was as if all of my creativity went down the drain and was non-existent. I wanted to come back sooner but life got a bit hectic and I really wasn’t in the right mindset to be blogging again.

However, in my few months off I started doing some research into cruelty free makeup and decided it was time for me to get on board with it. I’ve been sorting out my makeup for the past few months and thought I’d share with you the products in my everyday stash that are or aren’t cruelty free. Any brands that aren’t cruelty free, I’m going to use up the procucts and not repurchase them.

 

Foundation – Unfortunately for me my dear Revlon colourstay foundation doesn’t pass the test. The reason Revlon isn’t considered cruelty free is because they conduct third party testing on their products. I do have another foundation in my collection although it’s highend so if any of my readers can recommend a cruelty free foundation from the drugstore please do.

Concealer – NYX are a cruelty free brand so I can keep my favourite concealer in my makeup stash. Collection on the other hand are on Logical Harmony’s Brands to Avoid list meaning they’re not cruelty free. This is a shame considering how well loved this concealer is, hopefully in years to come they’ll change but for now I’ll no longer be purchasing from them.

Powder – Once again Rimmel are not a cruelty free brand. I’ve been using this powder non stop over the past few years so this one might be hard to replace.

 

img_7437

Blush – After that bad streak with my base products, luckily both of my blushers that I’m using are cruelty free. Hourglass and Tarte are highend cruelty free brands but if you’re a blush girl like my their blushers are worth the extra money. The only downside is Tarte is harder to get a hold of in Ireland as opposed to you lucky Americans.

Bronzer/Contour – The Body Shop are well known advocates for being cruelty free and urging other brands to make the transfer. The honey bronzer has always been one of my favourites as it suits my pale skin. For contour I’ve gone back to the NYX blush in ‘Taupe’ as it’s very complementary on my skintone. As I’ve said before NYX are cruelty free.

Highlight – I’m still loving my highlight from theBalm who are also cruelty free. Mary Lou Manizer is a cult beauty product in my collection.

 

img_7440

Eyeshadow Primer – As far as I know Catrice is a cruelty free brand which is fantstic as they have some good products which are very affordable. This primer though I’m not too mad about. It does the job fine but I feel like there’s much better. It’s just ‘meh’ for me.

Eyeshadow – Mac is 100% not cruelty free. It’s very disapointing considering their high status in the makeup world. Once my paint pot is finished I’ll have to try find an alternative. Urban Decay on the other hand are cruelty free. They’re one of my favourite brands so I’m delighted as I’d struggle to find replacements.

Mascara – Tarte has already been noted as cruelty free. Maybelline the rocket mascara is one of my favourite everyday mascaras that I won’t be buying again as it’s not cruelty free. It’s a lovely subtle mascara for days when you want a light makeup day. If you have any alternative recommendation please let me know.

Brows – Rimmel and Maybelline are both not cruelty free. My Maybelline brow gel is already practically finished so once again I’m asking you to recommend some brow products to me.

 

img_7442

Lips – In this section my cruelty lip products include Essence, Sleek and Soap&Glory which are all amazing brands. Mac, Rimmel and Bourjois and the other hand aren’t cruelty free.

 

As I’ve said probably a million times please so recommend some cruelty free alternative or cruelty free brands that I mightn’t have tried before. Also if any of you have skincare recommendation that aren’t too dear let me know because I know the majority of my well loved skincare products aren’t cruelty free.

 

 

 

 

Posted by

I'm an 18 year old student from Ireland. At the moment I'm in my first year of College/Uni studying Biological Sciences. I have a few interests like makeup, music, baking and also writing. I started this blog because I wanted somewhere to share all my thoughts. What I love, what I hate, what I'm thinking/doing. I hope you all enjoy reading as much as I love writing.

One thought on “How Cruel Is My Makeup Bag

Leave a Reply

